script console setsecuritylevelid doesn't write to database?

Jeff Pandinha May 4, 2017

Hello all,

I'm trying to write a listener that would set security level ID whenever there is an issue update or issue moved event. Essentially, if an issue is moved from a bug to non-bug, the security level should be set accordingly and vice-versa.

Since I'm not a coder, I usually just copy snippets of code and modify it for my purpose, however on this problem, I'm completely stumped. The listener doesn't work and when I try something simpler on script console such as:

import com.atlassian.jira.issue.MutableIssue
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.Issue
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.IssueManager
import com.atlassian.jira.ComponentManager
import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor

def issueManager = ComponentAccessor.getIssueManager();
def issue = issueManager.getIssueObject("ABCD-123");
issue.setSecurityLevelId(10100L);
return issue.getSecurityLevelId();

The code above does return 10100, but when I check on the issue itself, the security level hasn't changed, i.e. still 10000. Does anyone know why the script is not writing the changes to the issue itself? Is it because it's a MutableIssue and there is another function to write the change to the database?

Thanks for any help.

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
JamieA
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 5, 2017

Hi Jeff,

Your code is just setting the property on the object, but it is not persisted. You have to do that yourself, in the same way you would do an edit or a transition if using the GUI.

There are various methods to do this, here is one:

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.UpdateIssueRequest

def issueManager = ComponentAccessor.issueManager