How to make a field required during a workflow transition?

Fred Gruhn May 22, 2017

Greetings everyone. I'm still fairly new to my JIRA admin role, so please bear with me. Does anyone have any experience using Behaviours (or anything else) to make a field required based upon a workflow transition? For example, we want the field "Removed Reason" to be required when the state of an issue is changed to "Removed". Ideally, the expected result would be a screen that pops up and prompts the user to populate the newly required field before the transition completes. I've been experimenting w/Behaviours (which is a part of ScriptRunner). I've been able to get a field to change to required, but that happens after the transition occurs. Any thoughts or ideas would be welcome.

4 answers

Suggest an answer

13 votes
Rachel Wright
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 22, 2017

Hi Fred, no need to worry about new admin questions.  We were all new once and we all had this same question, believe me!

You can do this with a workflow validator.  I believe these days this function comes with JIRA and doesn't require installing a specific plugin.  (I just checked a Cloud instance with no plugins and it's there.)

Implementation

1. Open your workflow for editing
  2. Click on one of your transitions
  3. Click on the "Validators" tab 
  4. Click the "Add Validator" link on the right (see screenshot)
  5. Add for the validator called "Field Required Validator" and choose the specific field make required

validator.png

Tips:

Validators are checked and must return true before the transition completes.

Unlike requiring a field on a create screen, no asterisk (*) symbol will display for a field required by a workflow.  The end user will receive an error message however, if the field is not completed.