Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I pull a specific value out of a user's profile for use in another macro?

Rian Rian September 15, 2011

Hello,

When I look at a user's profile in my Confluence installation, I see a value for "Location" under the heading "Company". From working with our company's LDAP connection I know that the value comes from our LDAP directory.

I'd like to write a user macro that returns the current user's Location as defined in his/her profile. My idea is to feed that into the contentbylabel macro so as to display a list of pages labeled with that location name (i.e. relevant to the current user's location).

In other macros and other traffic on this site I see ways to get the ID of the current user -- but how do I drill down to that "Location" value? And could someone give me an example of how to pass that value to the ContentByLabel macro using replace-and-render or something similar.

(I'm very new to this, so please, of you can help, be explicit as possible.) Thanks, Rian Murphy

2 answers

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

0 votes
Matthew J. Horn
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 29, 2013

This would be a way to get access to the UserDetailsManager:

#set($containerManagerClass = $content.class.forName('com.atlassian.spring.container.ContainerManager'))

#set($getInstanceMethod = $containerManagerClass.getDeclaredMethod('getInstance',null))

#set($containerManager = $getInstanceMethod.invoke(null,null))

#set($containerContext = $containerManager.containerContext)

#set($userDetailsManager = $containerContext.getComponent('userDetailsManager'))

0 votes
David at David Simpson Apps
Marketplace Partner